The HotChillee Cape Rouleur kicks off the biggest month in cycling in South Africa

Wednesday 9th March 2016

Last week saw the HotChillee Cape Rouleur 2016 launch the biggest month of cycling in South Africa, with riders from across the world travelling to Franschhoek to experience the very best riding the Western Cape has to offer.

The 5th edition of the HotChillee Cape Rouleur was kicked off with 50 young local riders being invited to race the 7km ITT Prologue alongside pro riders including members of Team Dimension Data and Team Bulls. The fastest young rider was 16 year old Abdul Sauls who was awarded the Wattbike Young Rider Jersey. He will join the fastest 15 young riders and be performance tested as part of the enhanced HotChillee programme being run in collaboration with the UCI World Cycling Centre, Wattbike and Velokhaya to identify the next big talent in South African cycling.
After 5 days of cycling, over 6000m of climbing and 600km, riders were welcomed at the Tsogo Sun Cullinan Hotel at the Cape Town Waterfront by friends and family as well as some cycling greats including the "voice of cycling" Phil Liggett. The final results of the HotChillee Cape Rouleur were as follows:
Pro Male Yellow Leader's Jersey Winner: Karl Platt, Team Bulls
Wattbike Amateur Yellow Leader's Jersey (Male): Graeme Ockhuis, Ascendis Health 
Cape Town Yellow Leader's Jersey (Female): Natalie White, Qhubeka 
Cape Town Green Sprinter's Jersey: Rico Bence, Ascendis Health 
Cape Town Red Climber's Jersey: Marco Abrahams, Cape Town Giants 
Official Team Competition: Ascendis Health
Corne Bence
Rico Bence
Marchall Hendricks
Graeme Ockhuis
Master Male: Jamie Anderson 
Female Master: Charlie Forster 
Grand Master Male: Michael Pawlowski, Team Oryx Stainless  
Grand Master Female: Linda Endicott
HotChillee Ride Captain's "Spirit" Award:
Group 1: Thula Mxenge, Velokhaya?
Group 2: Paul Dolan , LumoHawk?
Group 3: David Morgan
Winner of the Wattbike Young Rider Competition - Abdul Sauls (16 years)
The week was closed off with the HotChillee Ride Captains supporting Jan Braai, Founder of National Braai Day, complete a sub 3 hour Cape Town Cycle Tour in his 25 consecutive year. He rode on a custom Project California bike from Cervélo. Footage of the ride, complete with commentary from cycling legend Phil Liggett can be seen here – The Tour also saw HotChillee Ride Captain Craig Edwards win his age category with a time of 02:49:32.
Next years edition of the Cape Rouleur takes place on 5 – 9 March 2017. Riders will once again be able to close off the week with riding the Cape Town Cycle Tour on the 12 March. 

2017 entries will open on Wednesday 16 March at 2pm UK time on the website